Natural Hair and Wigs

3 Nov

By CANDACE ROBERTS

Is it okay if you have natural hair and wear wigs? I say: Yes. Maybe you want to switch up your style every now and again. My reason is this: In 2005, at age 17, I discovered a small round bald spot in my hair. Of course I panicked and sought answers. I was told to have Alopecia Areata, which is a medical condition causing hair loss in some or all areas of the body, but usually just the scalp. Thankfully, I didn’t lose all my hair. I had always had really long, thick hair, which in this case was a blessing because it covered what few bald spots I had. The disease can go into remission permanently or for a certain period of time. Mines has been in remission for more than a few months now, thank God! There are many causes for this condition. Heredity and stress played a role in mines. My maternal great grandmother and one of my paternal first cousins had this condition too. I have learned to not stress over practically anything in order to prevent hair loss, another blessing. I definitely handle things differently to prevent stress.

After a few months, I went from having one bald spot to nine at one time. I saw an article about the singer, Brandy, wearing half wigs. I ordered one to try it out and it looked good on me. Eventually moving on to both 3/4 wigs and full wigs. Soon after I cut my hair short out of frustration and wanting my hair to grow back even. After cutting it I just decided to go natural. I didn’t know much about going natural and it was a struggle in the beginning. By this time I had refused to go back to using hair relaxers. I finally got the hang of it thanks to a few Youtube videos, articles and a friend who recommended natural hair products to me.

I still wear wigs and I wear my hair naturally in an Afro and occasionally twisting it. I’ve heard women with natural hair say they wear wigs to switch the style up, to protect their hair in the winter, and the list goes on. If your hair is natural and you decide to wear wigs too, for what ever the reason, just do whatever is comfortable for you.

Few of my favorite natural hair products:

Taliah Waajid                                                                                                                                          Miss Jessie’s (MissJessies.com)                                                                                               Natural Jenesis (NaturalJenesis.com)                                                                               Mixed Chicks (MixedChicks.net)

My favorite natural hair Youtuber’s:

AFRICANEXPORT

 

Nikkimae2003 (NaturalChica.com)

 

RadiahMaria

 

My natural hair inspiration:

Leela James (LeelaJames.com)

Leela James (LeelaJames.com)

 

9 Responses to “Natural Hair and Wigs”

  1. Milton April 16, 2014 at 4:42 PM #

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.

    I love the information you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome site!

    • CC December 28, 2014 at 11:02 PM #

      Thank you so much for your kind words! Sorry to be replying to you after such a long time, but it’s been a long year! Be blessed and enjoy the New Year ahead!

  2. bedroombaptist November 4, 2011 at 1:25 PM #

    Yes, you go girl

  3. coilyncourager November 3, 2011 at 10:56 PM #

    I hear you on the wigs Lady….especially when it comes to a medical condition. I also think that it should be up to each individual to decide what works for them. If I began to have noticeable bald spots on my head, what would I do? Hmmmmmm…..honestly, I don’t think wigs would be my first choice, simply because since I’ve gone natural, I just want to be all me. I would probably become a hat junkie. But in the case where hats might not be appropriate, I would most likely have to consider wigs. I don’t know a lot about the politics of being natural, but from what I’m hearing, some naturals feel that if you do or don’t do certain things, you’re just not natural. I think we need to lighten up Ladies, & support each other. We have come a long way, by breaking the cycle & mindset of believing that we can only be beautiful if our hair is straight. I hope it doesn’t sound like I’m talking out both sides of my mouth…In short…I’m saying wearing wigs should be a personal choice, although I would not choose them unless I needed to, for such things as medical reasons. Thanks for your post Lady! 🙂

    • Candace Roberts November 3, 2011 at 11:14 PM #

      Thanks for the comment! I’ve also heard of women getting sew-ins because it makes their hair grow faster or to protect in the winter. I usually just get my real hair braided and put the wig over it. During the summer, no wigs for me! I also enjoy switching up the styles. To be honest I use to hate doing my hair! Wearing wigs are just easier for me as well as being natural. Being natural is not as hard as most people think. Even when I wear my Afro, its really easy to upkeep and I no longer have to waste my money on relaxers. Since my hair has grown I have rocked the Fro a lot more though. In my case it was a medical condition, but I don’t think its anything wrong with wearing wigs even if one doesn’t have a condition. I have just seen a lot of arguments about it online and I think its the individuals choice. Good hair is healthy hair! Again, thanks for the feedback!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Natural Hair Growth Remedies to Stop Thinning Hair Fast | Hair Treatments At Home - December 2, 2011

    […] = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Natural Hair and Wigs // IE Evitar seleccion de texto document.onselectstart=function(){ if […]

  2. Common misconceptions about natural black hair | Appreciating and loving the natural you! - November 12, 2011

    […] Natural Hair and Wigs (heartofcity.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Naturally Natural: My 5 favorite natural hair products! « Heart of the City - November 8, 2011

    […] Natural Hair and Wigs (heartofcity.wordpress.com) Advertisement Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed How to feed 7 billion of us without ruining the planet Share this:EmailPrintLike this:Like2 bloggers like this post. […]

  4. Half Wigs | Natural Wigs - November 5, 2011

    […] Hair Lace Front WigCreate Fast Changing through Human Hair Half WigTips For Wearing Vanessa WigsNatural Hair and Wigs […]

Leave a Reply

